A Novel Idea

What would you wake up at 2am for?

Posted on: July 15, 2010

Today started at 2am for me. I had one of those rare mornings when you’re awake in an instant.

A hot cup of cammomile and spearmint tea later, I was at my desk.

Pitch black outside. Still.

Furiously bright inside as I tapped away at my noisy keyboard.

By 8am, when most people are just starting work, I had achieved a lifelong goal: MY VERY FIRST NOVEL DRAFT.

After almost three months working onย it I am finally finished!

Not really.

I suspect this story has another three or four (or maybe more?) drafts to go before I’m ready to unleash it on the world.

This is going to be a two-coffee day, but in the best possible way!

What would you wake up at 2am for?

Write well. Write often.

V.

(C) Copyright of the author. 2010.

Tags: ,

9 Responses to "What would you wake up at 2am for?"

Congratulations! Well done. Yes, it’s only the beginning, I can safely say that since I am on draft number 5 (I think, have lost track) but you know I remember the exhilaration, the feeling I had finally accomplished something I had wanted so badly. Took me six months to finish that first draft (I was working full time at the time)
so it’s brilliant you finished in 3 months.

I am normally still up at 2 am actually, bit of a night person but I have stayed up all night writing and been a complete zombie by dawn.

Remember to let that first draft breathe before you get back to edit it. Trust me, it’s good to let it sit there for a while because you go back to it with fresh eyes.

Thanks. I’m taking the next three days off to recouperate ๐Ÿ™‚

Congrats! Keep on plowing through the other drafts.
I should really stop slacking off my own ideas for novels. I start to write but halfway through the first draft I lose inspiration and end up eternally polishing that first half without moving on D:

Leave a space of time before continuing onto the next draft so that you can use that interval to observe, or catch inspiring bits of life to pepper it up. You deserve the three days of break ^_^

Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

Years ago, I used to write a few thousand words here and there – even outlining chapters in some cases. I’ve kept it all as they are good ideas – they were just a bit too nebulous to carry through at the time. Or maybe I wasn’t ready to write them.

This story however feels exactly right from where I’m at – as a writer and as a person.

Congratulations on getting this far. For what it is worth, my advice would be: do a couple of edits yourself and then pay for a professional to have a look at it. It can save a lot of time in the long run.

Thanks Karen. I have heard quite mixed comments from fellow writers who have paid for manuscript assessments. Do you recommend anyone in particular?

Sorry, somehow I missed replying. I could make a couple of recommendations but I am based in Australia and I’m not sure where you are?

I’m a resident of the wide brown land as well ๐Ÿ™‚

Well, in that case…
I have heard good reports regarding Wendy O’Hanlon, although I have not had any direct experience myself (wendyoh@bigpond.com) and my own experience with Paul Bugeja has been very good (but I think you need to go through Brolga Publishing to get him). You might find it worthwhile to at least ask for quotes.
I can understand why there would be mixed comments. On the one hand, I am sure there are good and bad assessors and also it is probably important to find someone who is interested in your style or genre (I guess the only way to find out is to email and ask). Also, it is very confronting because sometimes you are asked to change very important aspects of your story. What I have learned is to just let the assessment sit for a while, don’t be too precious about it but, at the same time, stick to your guns on the actual story (you are the author, after all).

Comments are closed.

